Lightning Wallet

This post is also available in: German

Lightning as a payment option is becoming more and more important and more users are looking for a suitable Lightning Wallet.

In the following post, we’ll briefly introduce the most important Lightning Wallet. After the short description you will find a link to the detailed description. The detailed description introduces the special features of the respective Lightning Wallet. Learn how to use the respective Lightning Wallet for Lightning payments.

Lightning Wallet without own Lightning Node

If you only want to use Lightning for payment at merchants, you don’t need your own node. These Lightning Wallets work just like the Bitcoin Wallet. I install the Lightning Wallet and load some Satoshi onto this wallet. With this credit I can then pay at any merchant that accepts Lightning.

 

If you would like to try out Lightning and pay or receive Lightning, we recommend the following Lightning Wallets for your smartphone:

 

Mobile Lightning Wallet

Lightning Wallet with own Lightning Node

If you run your own Lightning Node, you want to manage this Lightning Node comfortably with your smartphone app and execute Lightning payments. Here we recommend Lightning Wallets, with which you can dispose of the Lightning credit on your own Lightning Node.

If you run your own BTCPay server, you automatically have your own Lightning Node. Then it is recommended that you install the Bowser Extension Joule in your internet browser. You can then use the Joule Browser Extension to make payments directly to other Lightning sites or to login to Lightning sites that use Joule as their login.

To make Lightning payments with your smartphone using the Lightning Node on the BTCPay server, we recommend the ZAP Wallet.

External custody vs. self-custody

.

.

A key distinguishing feature of Lightning Wallets are Custodial and Non-Custodial Wallets.

In Custodial Wallets, the wallet, and thus the balance, is managed in trust by the wallet provider. The private key and thus the access to the credit has the provider of the wallet.

With a non-custodial wallet or rather self-custodial you manage the private key yourself and independently. As an owner, you only have access to the balance on the wallet.

The advantage of a Custodial Wallet is the easier and more convenient use. In a non-custodial wallet, the user must go through a longer registration process and keep the private key securely on his site.

Both variants have a permission. Since Lightning uses mainly smaller amounts (micropayments), a Custodial Wallet can be used without hesitation.

If you run your own Lightning Node, you manage your Lightning yourself and are therefore self-custodial.

Users who do not operate their own Lightning Node can choose between custodial and non-custodial solutions. In a non-custodial solution, the 12 or 24 words of the passphrase (seed) must be written down and kept safe. This is not necessary with a custodial solution.

LNURL

Some wallets also support LNURL. A detailed description of LNURL and the possibilities associated with it can be described in the article LNURL.

Overview of the Lightning Wallet

 

Wallet

 

System

 

(Self)-Custodial

 

(none) own node

 

Bitcoin Lightning Wallet

 

Android

 

Self-Custodial

 

no own node required

 

iOS, Android

 

Custodial and Self-Custodial

 

no own node required

 

iOS, Android

 

Self-Custodial

 

no own node required

 

Desktop

 

Self-Custodial

 

Lightning Wallet with own Lightning Node

 

Joule

 

Web Browser Extension

 

Self-Custodial

 

own node required

 

Telegram

 

Custodial

 

no own node required

 

Phoenix

 

Android

 

Self-Custodial

 

with and without own node

 

iOS, Android, Web

 

Custodial

 

no own node required

 

iOS, Android

 

Custodial

 

no own node required

 

iOS, Android, Web

 

Self-Custodial

 

with and without own node

 

Phoenix Lightning Wallet

The Phoenix Wallet was developed by ACINQ. It is a non-custodial wallet that runs on Android smartphones. An iOS solution is expected to be available in the course of 2020. The special thing about the Phoenix Wallet is the simplicity of user guidance. Although it is a non-custodial wallet, the user does not have to worry about anything. The Phoenix Wallet takes over the channel management, provides sufficient liquidity and can be used for Bitcoin and Lightning payments. The user does not have to worry about whether the recipient is now displaying a QR code for Bitcoin or Lightning payments.

The Phoenix Lightning Wallet is an absolute recommendation

BlueWallet

The BlueWallet has been one of the first Lightning wallets on the market. With the BlueWallet you can manage Bitcoin and Lightning. The BlueWallet is a non-custodial wallet and is available for iOS as well as for Android.

Learn more about BlueWallet

Breez Wallet

Breez is a Lightning Wallet for iOS and also Android. With the Breez Wallet, Bitcoin and Lightning can be managed. The Breez Wallet has a POS function. Thus, merchants can use the Beez Wallet to accept payments directly in the store.

Learn more about Breez Wallet

Wallet of Satoshi

Satoshi’s wallet is a perfect example of a self-explanatory wallet. You call yourself the simplest Lightning Wallet in the world. The Wallet of Satoshi only supports Lightning and is available for iOS and Android.

Learn more about Wallet of Satoshi

Zap Wallet

The Zap Wallet was developed by Jack Mallers in October 2017. The ZAP Wallet is available as a mobile wallet and for Windows, Mac and Linux computers. The ZAP Wallet connects you to your own node. The ZAP Wallet also supports Strike. Strike can link your own bank account or debit card to pay with Bitcoin through the balance in his bank account with merchants if the merchants only accepts Bitcoin.

More information about the ZAP Wallet

Learn more about Lightning Wallets at Coinpages Lightning Wallet

 

This post is also available in: German

Leave a reply

Lightning Wallet

This post is also available in: Englisch

Lightning als Zahlungsoption gewinnt immer mehr an Bedeutung und immer mehr Nutzer sind auf der Suche nach einer geeigneten Lightning Wallet.

In dem folgenden Beitrag stellen wir die wichtigsten Lightning Wallet kurz vor. Im Anschluss an die Kurzbeschreibung findest Du jeweils eine Link auf die Detailbeschreibung. In der Detailbeschreibung werden die Besonderheiten der jeweiligen Lightning Wallet vorgestellt. Du erfährst wie die jeweilige Lightning Wallet für Lightning Zahlungen genutzt werden kann.

Lightning Wallet ohne eigenem Lightning Node

Wer Lightning nur für die Bezahlung bei Händler nutzen möchte, benötigt keine eigene Node. Diese Lightning Wallets funktionieren genauso, wie auch die Bitcoin Wallet. Ich installiere mir die Lightning Wallet und lade ein paar Satoshi auf diese Wallet. Mit diesem Guthaben kann ich dann bei jedem Händler der Lightning akzeptiert dann auch bezahlen.

Wer als Anwender Lightning ausprobieren und damit bezahlen bzw. Lightning empfangen möchte, dem seien die folgenden Lightning Wallets für sein Smartphone empfohlen:

Mobile Lightning Wallet

Lightning Wallet mit eigenem Lightning Node

Wer einen eigenen Lightning Node betreibt, der möchte diesen Lightning Node komfortabel mit seiner Smartphone App verwalten und Lightning Zahlungen ausführen. Hier empfehlen sich Lightning Wallets, mit denen man über das Lightning Guthaben auf dem eigenen Lightning Node verfügen kann.

Wenn Du einen eigenen BTCPay Server betreibst, dann verfügst Du automatisch auch über einen eigenen Lightning Node. Dann empfiehlt es sich, wenn Du in Deinem Internet Browser die Bowser Extension Joule installierst. Du kannst dann über die Joule Browser Extension bei anderen Internetseiten Lightning Zahlungen direkt vornehmen oder Dich bei Lightning Seiten anmelden, die Joule als Login verwenden.

Um mit Deinem Smartphone Lightning Zahlungen durchzuführen, bei denen der Lightning Node auf dem BTCPay Server verwendet werden soll, empfiehlt sich die ZAP Wallet.

 

Fremdverwahrung vs. Selbstverwahrung

oder auf englisch:

Custodial vs. Self Custodial / Non-Custodial

Ein wesentliches Unterscheidungsmerkmal bei Lightning Wallets sind Custodial und Non-Custodial Wallets.

Bei Custodial Wallets wird die Wallet, und damit das Guthaben, treuhänderisch von dem Anbieter der Wallet verwaltet. Der Private Key und somit der Zugriff auf das Guthaben hat der Anbieter der Wallet.

Bei einer Non-Custodial Wallet oder besser Self-Custodial (=Selbstverwahrung) verwaltet man den Private Key selber und eigenverantwortlich. Als Eigentümer hat man nur selber Zugriff auf das Guthaben auf der Wallet.

Der Vorteil einer Custodial Wallet ist die einfachere und komfortablere Nutzung. Bei einer Non-Custodial Wallet muss der Nutzer einen längeren Anmeldeprozess durchlaufen und den Private Key sicher auf seiner Seite zu verwahren.

Beide Varianten besitzen eine Berechtigung. Da bei Lightning vorwiegend kleinere Beträge (Micropayments) eingesetzt werden, kann eine Custodial Wallet bedenkenlos verwendet werden.

Wer einen eigenen Lightning Node betreibt, der verwaltet seine Lightning selber und ist somit Self-Custodial.

Wer als reiner Anwender keinen eigenen Lightning Node betreibt, der kann zwischen Custodial und Non-Custodial Lösungen entscheiden. Bei einer Non-Custodial Lösung muss man sich die 12 bzw. 24 Wörter der Passphrase (Seed) sicher aufschreiben und verwahren. Bei einer Custodial Lösung ist dies nicht erforderlich.

LNURL

Einige Wallets unterstützen auch LNURL. Eine detaillierte Beschreibung von LNURL und den damit verbundenen Möglichkeiten beschreiben wir in dem Beitrag LNURL.

Überblick der Lightning Wallet

Wallet

System

(Self)-Custodial

(kein) eigene Node

Bitcoin Lightning Wallet

Android

Self-Custodial

kein eigener Node erforderlich

iOS, Android

Custodial und Self-Custodial

kein eigener Node erforderlich

iOS, Android

Self-Custodial

kein eigener Node erforderlich

Desktop

Self-Custodial

Lightning Wallet mit eigener Lightning Node

Joule

Web Browser Extension

Self-Custodial

eigener Node erforderlich

Telegram

Custodial

kein eigener Node erforderlich

Phoenix

Android

Self-Custodial

mit und ohne eigenem Node

iOS, Android, Web

Custodial

kein eigener Node erforderlich

iOS, Android

Custodial

kein eigener Node erforderlich

iOS, Android, Web

Self-Custodial

mit und ohne eigenem Node

Phoenix Lightning Wallet

Die Phoenix Wallet wurde von der Firma ACINQ entwickelt. Es handelt sich um eine Non-Custodial Wallet welche auf Android-Smartphones läuft. Eine iOS Lösung soll es im Laufe des Jahres 2020 geben. Das Besondere an der Phoenix Wallet ist die Einfachheit an der Benutzerführung. Obwohl es sich um eine Non-Custodial Wallet handelt, muss der Nutzer sich um nichts kümmern. Die Phoenix Wallet übernimmt das Channel-Management, sorgt für ausreichend Liquidität und kann für Bitcoin und Lightning Zahlungen genutzt werden. Der Nutzer muss sich keine Gedanken darüber machen, ob der Empfänger jetzt einen QR Code für Bitcoin oder Lightning Zahlungen anzeigt.

Die Phoenix Lightning Wallet ist eine absolute Empfehlung

 

BlueWallet 

Die BlueWallet ist eine der ersten Lightning Wallets am Markt gewesen. Mit der BlueWallet kann man Bitcoin und Lightning verwalten. Die BlueWallet ist eine Non-Custodial Wallet und für iOS als auch für Android verfügbar.

Weitere Informationen zur BlueWallet

 

Breez Wallet

Breez ist eine Lightning Wallet für iOS und auch Android. Mit der Breez Wallet können Bitcoin und Lightning verwaltet werden. Die Breez Wallet verfügt eine POS Funktion. Somit können Händler die Beez Wallet verwenden, um Zahlungen direkt im Laden zu akzeptieren.

Weitere Informationen zur Breez Wallet

 

Wallet of Satoshi

Die Wallet von Satoshi ist ein perfektes Beispiel für eine selbsterklärende Wallet. Man bezeichnet sich selber als die simpelste Lightning Wallet auf der Welt. Die Wallet of Satoshi unterstützt ausschliesslich Lightning und gibt es für iOS und Android.

Weitere Informationen zur Wallet of Satoshi

 

Zap Wallet

Die Zap-Wallet wurde im Oktober 2017 von Jack Mallers entwickelt. Die ZAP Wallet gibt es als Mobile Wallet und für Windows, Mac und Linux Rechner. Mit der ZAP Wallet verbindet man sich mit dem eigenen Node. Die ZAP Wallet unterstützt auch Strike. Mit Strike kann das eigene Bankkonto oder eine Debitkarte verknüpft werden, um über das Guthaben auf seinem Bankkonto bei Händlern mit Bitcoin zu bezahlen, wenn der Händler nur Bitcoin akzeptiert.

Weitere Informationen zur ZAP Wallet

Weitere Informationen zu Lightning Wallets gibt es bei Coinpages Lightning Wallet

This post is also available in: Englisch

8 Comments

Leave a reply